Need help collecting, reporting and filing sales tax? Try our free, 30-day trial.

Get started

How to use a Nevada resale certificate

by TaxJar January 21, 2024

Please note: This blog was originally published in 2019. It’s since been updated for accuracy and comprehensiveness.

If you buy products to resale in the state of Nevada, you can avoid paying sales tax on your purchase by using a Nevada resale certificate. Always keep in mind that you should only use your resale certificate to buy items you intend to resale. Any other use of the resale certificate by an individual is usually considered unlawful.

Using a Nevada resale certificate

It’s fairly easy to use a resale certificate in Nevada. If you live in Nevada, you can print off a template Nevada resale certificate or buy one in an office supply store.

In Nevada, unlike in other states, resale certificates and sales tax permits are not interchangeable. Though, if you live and have sales tax nexus in Nevada and are buying something for resale in Nevada then you should have a Nevada sales tax permit.

Nevada retailers who accept resale certificates can also accept out-of-state resale certificates. All in all, Nevada law is a lot more relaxed about resale certificates than many other states.

Keep in mind that if you are registered for a sales tax permit in Nevada, you are required to collect sales tax from your Nevada buyers.

If you are presented with a Nevada resale certificate

If you are a retailer with nexus in Nevada and your buyer presents you with a resale certificate, you should do the following:

  1. Make sure the Nevada resale certificate form is completely filled out – This includes the buyer’s name and what they sell, your store name, and a detailed description of the items bought for resale. You should also have the buyer’s address and signature. Don’t skip this step, because it could protect you in case of an audit!
  2.  Keep it on file – Again, this is to protect yourself in case an auditor comes knocking and asks why you didn’t collect sales tax from a certain customer. As long as the none of the buyer’s info has changed and they are buying the same types of products from you for resale, the same Nevada resale certificate is valid for 2-3 years. After that, you should obtain an updated copy from your buyer.

Ready to automate sales tax? To learn more about TaxJar and get started, visit

Please note: This blog is for informational purposes only. Be advised that sales tax rules and laws are subject to change at any time. For specific sales tax advice regarding your business, contact a tax advisor.

Watch our product demo

See how TaxJar can simplify your compliance.

Watch now